Google, Cloudflare, Microsoft: How AI Content Payment Models Differ
Google, Cloudflare and Microsoft are paying publishers for AI content use — but their payment triggers, publisher control and reporting differ sharply. Here is how the three models compare.
Updated

The brief
- Google's pilot pays only when content 'contributes significantly' to AI answers across Gemini, AI Overviews and AI Mode; Google itself judges what qualifies, and one exec called the process 'quite black box'.
- Cloudflare's Pay Per Crawl lets owners set per-crawl prices from a $0.001 minimum, but metering search crawlers like Googlebot risks deindexing because Google drops URLs returning 4xx status codes.
- Microsoft's Publisher Content Marketplace, announced Feb. 3 with Copilot as first demand partner and Yahoo onboarding, promises publisher-defined terms and usage-based reporting but does not specify who sets pricing or what reports contain.
Google, Cloudflare, and Microsoft are each testing ways to compensate websites when AI systems access or use their content. The three programs differ on what triggers payment, who defines that unit, what control content owners have over terms, and what data flows back. Those differences determine what a site owner can actually set versus merely observe once they opt in.
What each company pays for
Google's pilot program pays when a site's content "contributes significantly" to an AI-generated response across Gemini, AI Overviews, and AI Mode, as Digiday reported. Confirmation or linking after the answer is generated does not count. Google told Digiday the program is in an initial learning phase, referencing a June 18 post about testing a new model for websites whose content helps ground its generative AI answers.
Cloudflare's Pay Per Crawl, in private beta since 2025, charges a crawler for each successful retrieval. The site owner sets a per-crawl price with a $0.001 minimum; a crawler that agrees to pay receives the page with an HTTP 200 response. Earlier this year, Cloudflare said it was shaping that product into Pay Per Use, where AI companies bring their own payment models. Under that umbrella, Ceramic.ai pays participating sites when their content appears in its search results, and You.com pays on demand for specific premium content.
Microsoft's Publisher Content Marketplace, announced Feb. 3, licenses premium content to support Copilot responses — the grounding data the AI uses to generate replies. Microsoft stated that publishers will be paid on delivered value, define licensing and usage terms, and receive usage-based reporting. Copilot is the first demand partner, and Yahoo was onboarding at announcement.
From the click deal to paid use
In December, Search Engine Journal examined payment models including revenue sharing with Perplexity and ProRata, flat licensing deals like OpenAI's agreement with News Corp, and court settlements. At that point, Google had announced nothing beyond existing traffic arrangements. Nine months later, Google has launched a pilot, Cloudflare has started testing beyond the per-fetch model it launched in July 2025, and Microsoft has built a marketplace.
Google's June update describes the pilot as an addition to existing payment programs. The company says its News AI pilot involves over 200 publications, the European News Partnerships program pays more than 5,500 European publications, and News Showcase partners with more than 2,800 outlets across 33 countries. These are separate commercial or payment programs; earnings from the pilot appear in Search Console, according to Digiday.
Cloudflare takes a different view of value. Its July 1 post notes that crawling proved to be a crude measure, because a page can be crawled once and cited in thousands of answers, or crawled repeatedly and never used. Cloudflare emphasizes outcomes, describes Pay Per Use as an experiment, and says it has a lot to learn about the model's performance across the internet.
Who decides what counts
Under Google's pilot, Google decides. Digiday's sources say payments are based on the value of content rather than the amount of usage, with Google judging whether a piece meaningfully contributed. "It's quite black box," one exec with knowledge of the program told Digiday. Google has not publicly stated the criteria.
Under Pay Per Crawl, the event is mechanical: Cloudflare's documentation defines it as an HTTP 200 response to a crawler that accepted the price. Under Pay Per Use, the AI company defines the event. Cloudflare's post describes Ceramic's model as pay-per-query and You.com's as on-demand access, and notes that other providers are experimenting with models Cloudflare calls Pay per Query and Pay per Result.
Microsoft's post does not specify the payable unit. It explains that publishers define licensing and usage terms and that AI builders license content for particular grounding scenarios. Pricing appears among the topics co-designed with publishers, but the post does not say who determines it.
What the site owner controls
Google's pilot is by invitation, and participants can opt out at any time from Search Console, per Digiday. Beyond joining, nothing published gives participants a say over terms. One exec told Digiday the numbers offered to their company and several peers were too low to accept, and that talks with Google were ongoing — so some terms are under discussion. Digiday's sources did not say which.
In Pay Per Crawl, the site owner sets the price per domain, can vary it by path with dynamic pricing, and chooses per crawler whether to charge, allow, or block. In Pay Per Use, the owner joins a partner's program, with payment triggered differently depending on the partner; Cloudflare's post does not establish who sets the rate.
Microsoft says joining is voluntary and publishers keep ownership of their content and their editorial independence. The post does not specify what the licensing and usage terms might involve.
What comes back as data
Google's participants can view an AI contribution panel in Search Console showing a monthly earnings figure and some history. Digiday notes that no additional detail on how payouts are calculated is provided. Google also runs weekly calls with some partners. One participant told Digiday they would like a feedback system like Search Console, but for AI inference. David Buttle of the publisher coalition Spur said the first step is setting the precedent that publishers deserve to know when their content informed a response.
Cloudflare records a charge event on each successful paid HTTP 200 retrieval, and its dashboard shows which crawlers accessed content and how often charges occurred. The same page notes the earned balance is not displayed on the dashboard and must be requested from the Cloudflare team. For Pay Per Use, the July post explains that sites in the Ceramic program receive reports on the top queries that surfaced their content, including the specific page, snippet, and average position in search results.
Microsoft promises usage-based reporting so publishers can see how content was valued and where it could provide more value. The post does not say what the reports contain, and no participant has publicly described them.
Google's broader AI reporting exists separately from the pilot. The generative AI performance report rolled out worldwide on Aug. 31, and one Digiday source said the impressions it showed closely tracked traffic lost from traditional search and Discover. Neither the help documentation nor Digiday's reporting connects that report to pilot payments.
The Googlebot question
Cloudflare's per-fetch unit can be pointed at any crawler in its directory, including search engine crawlers. Its documentation warns that setting those crawlers to Block or Charge may hurt SEO performance, because search engines may not be able to index the content. Google's crawler documentation says it does not use content from URLs returning 4xx status codes, and that indexed URLs returning any 4xx other than 429 are removed from the index over time. A 402 Payment Required response is a 4xx.
A site can meter Googlebot, and doing so creates Search visibility risk. Cloudflare's change this week does not alter that. Its Disallow AI Training setting publishes a no-training preference in robots.txt that Google and Apple honor while their crawlers keep crawling for search; its Block option stops Googlebot, Applebot, and Bingbot entirely. For Bing, the setting does not currently indicate a domain-wide no-training preference on its own, and Cloudflare says Microsoft is building robots.txt support targeted for early 2027. Cloudflare reports that less than 1% of its sites block search bots, while 17% use some form of training block.
The same post notes Google expects to launch URL-level transparency tools related to Google-Extended within weeks. Cloudflare mentions these tools briefly; they are distinct from the pilot's contribution reporting.
What it means for publishers
For a site holding a Google pilot invitation, the published record settles the event, the report, and the exit: Google judges the contribution, the report is a monthly figure, and participants opt out through Search Console. It does not define what "significantly" means or clarify whether the Search generative AI control affects eligibility.
For a site behind Cloudflare, two units exist, and this week's update changed crawler controls and migration of existing settings. Block now stops Googlebot for search as well as training, so a site that wants training refused but search kept must set the Training control to Disallow AI Training, not Block. Pay Per Crawl prices the fetch on the owner's terms, with the search-crawler caution in the docs and the balance limitation on earnings. Pay Per Use triggers vary by partner, and the reporting Cloudflare describes is Ceramic's.
For a site weighing Microsoft's marketplace, the primary source establishes publisher-defined terms and usage reporting and names the co-design publishers. It does not say who sets the price or what the reports show. The intake form is the only public route in.
Looking ahead
Cloudflare plans to make its search-signals program broadly available later this year and, according to a Sept. 15 post, aims to give sites control over how much of their content appears in AI summaries by early next year. Google, meanwhile, gave Digiday no expansion date for the pilot and describes it as still early stage.
The reporting gap remains the throughline: Ceramic provides query, page, snippet, and position data through Cloudflare; Microsoft promises usage-based reporting; Google displays a monthly total. More detail would move the market closer to the Search Console-style feedback that one site owner told Digiday they wanted for AI inference.
Based on Search Engine Journal; about.ads.microsoft.com
Filed under ai-content-licensing, google, cloudflare, microsoft-copilot, pay-per-crawl
James Calloway
Show full bio
Market editor covering media and advertising at Marketing Herald.